Home | Community | Message Board

Sporeworks
Please support our sponsors.

General Interest >> Philosophy, Sociology & Psychology

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineCatalysis
EtherealEngineer

On Artificial Intelligence
    #618282 - 04/25/02 12:24 PM (15 years, 8 days ago)

I am by NO means an expert in this field. It just seems to me that true artificial intelligence would be impossible for this reason; i believe the mechanism of thinking has to do with certain molecules being excreted from cells and being picked up by "keyed" receptors. Basic knowledge of chemistry would lead me to believe that not all of these molecules are recieved by the receptors and we all know what that difference can mean (tripping, depression, so on..). It would appear to me that the number of molecules recieved has to do with the concentration released and "random" factors such as the concentration before release, other chemicals in the brain, density of brain fluid, possibly electromagnetic and gravitational factors and so on...Sure, this is "theoretically" possible assuming that we could even quantize such atomic interactions, but is it feasable?

--------------------
:egyptian:

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
InvisibleSwami
Eggshell Walker

Loc: In the hen house
Re: On Artificial Intelligence [Re: Catalysis]
    #618304 - 04/25/02 12:43 PM (15 years, 8 days ago)