Home | Community | Message Board

Crestline Sales - MycoPath
Please support our sponsors.

General Interest >> Science and Technology

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop: Scales

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineSeussA
Error: divide byzero

Folding@home Statistics
Loc: Caribbean
Evolution, specializtion, and natural selection
    #4735397 - 09/30/05 08:47 AM (12 years, 25 days ago)

With all the discussion over intelligent design (ID), evolution, and creationism recently, I thought I would try to express a theory I have about evolution. I have been running computer based evolution simulations for the last ten years and have come to some interesting conclusions regarding evolution and speciation. I contend that evolution is driven by mass extinction and hindered by natural selection.

In a closed population, natural selection tends to specialize a species. As a species becomes specialized, the unfit characteristics of that species are pruned. Occasional mutations occur, but the mutated organisms are almost always less adapt at survival than the specialized organisms. The mutations are quickly pruned from the population through natural selection.