Home | Community | Message Board

FreeSpores.com
Please support our sponsors.

General Interest >> Philosophy, Sociology & Psychology

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlinegotmagog
searching fortruth andlogic...

Loc: Europe
Neural Networks and the Mind
    #3077589 - 09/01/04 12:19 PM (12 years, 3 months ago)

Recently I studied about neural networks and I thought about the connection of their structure with how actual brains and minds work.

If the theory that the brain is a very complex nervous system, is right, than consciousness and our minds may be thought of as functions of the neural states.

Than us thinking, growing and evolving our personalities, will be explained by the neural networks training, trying to find a function, best fitting the criteria. We output our thoughts and actions, and we than change ourselves according to out goals in life, which themselves are subject to change of the self-programming neural network.

Another feature of neural networks is that one does not specify their exact features. One just devises the net of inputs(feedback from our inner and outer sensors) and than changes our thoughts and actions. An interaction with the world happens and we get again feedback from sensors and see how well we have done, according to one's view of life.

Emotions that seem somehow irrational are just different effects in the network, changing ourselves even without the attention of the conscious mind. Maybe that is the power of positive thinking - letting our subconscious mind to change us for the better.

Intuition is us humans finding good decisions even without being why?