Home | Community | Message Board

MRCA Tyroler Gluckspilze
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Gourmet and Medicinal Mushrooms

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: Mycobags, Perlite, Rye Grain

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
InvisibleLand_Crab
NeuroticPsychonaut
Male User Gallery

Loc: U.S.
Basic mycobag and fruiting questions
    #3674219 - 01/24/05 10:04 PM (12 years, 1 month ago)

Hi gang,
I'm looking for some advice.  This is my first time growing edible and novelty mushrooms, though I've grown some cubensis in the past.  Right now, reishi, shiitake, and panellus stipticus (luminescent) are colonizing inside three small mycobags.  The reishi/shiitake are colonizing wood-based substrate, and the panellus is colonizing rye grain.  I'm curious as to what you all would recommend after they are fully colonized.

The way I understand it, there are two main options:
#1, Cut off the top of the mycobag at the level of the top of the mycelium block, then put it in a humidity chamber.
#2, Cut an X on the bag, and the mushrooms will grow out of that.

Now, questions:
- If I cut off the top of the mycobag, would it be reasonable to put it in a humidity chamber that consists of a fishtank with perlite and water? (I really want to put the panellus in a fishtank, for obvious reasons. :tongue2: ) Would I need to cover up the mycobag with something opaque so that the fruit isn't growing up the sides, as is done in casing?
- If I decide to do the X slice, do I only make one?  With this method, would it be best to fruit it in one of those plastic bags w/holes in it (that come with the mycobags), or does it even need to be covered up at all?