Home | Community | Message Board

Sporeworks
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Contamination Forum

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Brown Rice Flour

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineAnGiL420
Your Momma
Loc: It's hot and dirty
Fast colonizer or cobweb?
    #1014010 - 11/01/02 07:59 PM (14 years, 1 month ago)

(Sorry no pics) Using BRF cakes innoculated half pint jars (about 4 ccs in each jar). GC, AC, and MAZ'S. They are being inncubated around 80 degrees with high humidity levels. I have never used an incubator before and around the fourth day already showed signs of growth? At first I thought it was cobweb and we ended up throwing almost all our jars out except for a couple but decided to keep a few just in case. The ones we open had no contam smell and the slightest smell of mushroom. It is now the fifth or sixth day and the GC is covered in a white but is just now starting to show rhizo growth but doesn't look so cobwebby anymore very bright white. Is this too good to be true or is there most likely contams and mycelia just starting to cover it?

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
OfflineAnGiL420
Your Momma
Re: Fast colonizer or cobweb? [Re: AnGiL420]
    #1015092 - 11/02/02 04:59 AM (14 years, 1 month ago)

I am gonna respond to my own post, I think it's mycelium. HEHEHE I guess just lucky it's just growing so fast it's hard to believe true!

OfflineLSAuser
Full figuredwomen rule!
Loc: Florida
    #1015204 - 11/02/02 08:09 AM (14 years, 1 month ago)

Check for rhyzomes, also let it fruit. If you never get shrooms, it wasnt mycellum

OfflineMAIA
World-BridgerKartikeya (DftS)