Home | Community | Message Board

Crestline Sales - MycoPath
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: Original Seeds Store Buy CBD, Compare CBD   Amazon ½ Pint Jars, Brown Rice Flour, Pressure Cooker

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineDeep_Roots
Stranger
Sterilization by Oven Pot
    #647335 - 05/27/02 08:38 AM (15 years, 4 months ago)

Heya, newbie here.

Today I just tried to make my first batch of substrate using the PF-Tek , but seein i don't have a pressure cocker lying around home i had to use the pot method for sterillization. As i was boiling the jars i peaked inside to see what was happening, i noticed a build-up of liquid in the bottom of the jar. Figuring that the added liquid could give rise the chances of contamination, i turned up the heat some.

Was this the right thing to do?

Also, what should my substrate in the jar look like after sterillizing it, and how much moisture should i be able to see?

Finally, after sterillization i'm assume you leave the holes of the jar coverd untill inouculation, is this right?

Thanks for any help

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
OfflineHotDamn

Re: Sterilization by Oven Pot [Re: Deep_Roots]
    #647447 - 05/27/02 09:51 AM (15 years, 4 months ago)

if you see water collecting at the bottom of your jars, youve messed up the water formula somewhere...thats really bad news. just how much of a buildup was it? your substrate should be damp to the touch, but never dripping.

OfflineDeep_Roots
Stranger
Re: Sterilization by Oven Pot [Re: HotDamn]
    #647511 - 05/27/02 10:44 AM (15 years, 4 months ago)