Home | Community | Message Board

Gaiana.nl
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: Vermiculite

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineDankVudu
dank's 'Tastee Case' tek
    #395431 - 09/15/01 10:04 PM (15 years, 6 months ago)

I have been using this tek for several years now, and it has never failed me. The ice cream pails can be found in most major grocery stores. Sometimes, you will see the 4 quart pails. These will work, however, I do not suggest you use them, as they are not as big, and signifigantly hamper the height that your fungus fruits can grow to. But, if you can't find the 5 quart pails, they will work just as good if you do not mind having some twisty mushrooms. Also, you don't necessarily have to use 3 cakes. This is the maximum I would suggest in a 5 quart pail though, as any more will reduce the amount of growing space your muhsrooms have, and possibly force them to curl around. Thereby reducing the potential visual glory of a fully matured and upright fungus fruit. What you're doing with this tek is combining your casing container and terrarium at an extremely low cost(I've never paid more than $4 for 5 quarts of generic ice cream). And it's free if you like ice cream.

Supply list:

5 quart ice cream pail(be sure you have the lid that comes with it)
Duct tape
Vermiculite
H2O(tap water works just fine)
3 Colonized half pint cakes

Instructions:

1 - Wrap a layer of duct tape(or something that will block light)around the bottom half of your pail. This is to keep your mushrooms fruiting towards the top.