Home | Community | Message Board

Shroom Supply
Please support our sponsors.

Community >> The Pub

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineJiminiCricket
Loc: Ohio
Playing chess
    #1231990 - 01/19/03 07:48 PM (14 years, 8 days ago)

About two weeks ago I took up playing chess with a guy at work over lunch. He's a little better than me. I started playing online on yahoo games now to the other night. I've played about 20 games and won 2. I'm really bad and keep getting beat by little kids and stuff. Just wondering if there are any players here and how long it took them to get good at it.

--------------------
Molon Labe!

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
OfflineSeussA
Error: divide byzero

Folding@home Statistics
Loc: Caribbean
Re: Playing chess [Re: JiminiCricket]
    #1234098 - 01/20/03 01:25 PM (14 years, 7 days ago)

I have been playing chess for about 20 years now. In the day I had a candidate master rating, but would be lucky to rate at 1/4 of that now. Chess is not like riding a bike... if you stop playing for a while you loose your edge.

Here are a few easy things to do that will help you get better:

1) Record your moves and study the games you play later.

This is by far the most important thing you can do to improve your game. Write down every move you and your opponent make during a game. When you have free time, replay the game and look at what you did and how your opponent answered.

2) Get a few books that teach chess strategy. Here are some really good ones that I recommend:

Chess Openings: Traps and Zaps by Bruce Pandolfini
My System: 21st Century Edition by Aron Nimzowitsch