Home | Community | Message Board

Myco Supply
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Hunting and Identification

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineKaren
Pooh-Bah
Female

Are there any deadly look alikes for liberty caps
    #985438 - 10/23/02 02:20 AM (14 years, 1 month ago)

I'm new to hunting and think I may have found a large stash of libs but because I am paranoid and haven ever really hunted before I didn't pick them.

Are there any deadly look alikes for liberty caps? If so is there any surefire way to tell them apart.

I've read the guides but I am not all that confident. I wanted to use mushroom johns guide but his page appears to be down. Does anyone else know where I might find the info contained in his guide?

Any help would be appreciated since I am a newbie to all of this.

Thanks all and sorry for the basic questions but I went through pages and pages of search info and couldn't find any real data about look alikes.

Karen

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
Invisibleangryshroom
Stranger
 User Gallery

Re: Are there any deadly look alikes for liberty caps [Re: Karen]
    #985541 - 10/23/02 03:35 AM (14 years, 1 month ago)

I thikn there was a question a few days about this...but, I'll post the information for LIberty caps:

Psilocybe semilanceata:

Cap: .5-2.5 cm broad and high, narrowly conical to bell shaped with a pointed umbo. Surface smooth, chesnut brown to brown or olive brown and slightly viscid when moist

Gills: attached, pallid, becoming gray and finally turning dark purple brown. white edges

Stem: 3-10 cm long, 1-2 mm thick, whitesh with brownish base.