Home | Community | Message Board

Sporeworks
This site includes paid links. Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: PhytoExtractum Buy Bali Kratom Powder, Maeng Da Thai Kratom Leaf Powder   Kraken Kratom Red Vein Kratom   Unfolding Nature Unfolding Nature: Being in the Implicate Order

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1
Anonymous

Greek tradgey
    #821832 - 08/16/02 05:41 PM (21 years, 7 months ago)

Heres the thing, most people read greek Tradgeys when they are in HS, usually under duress. I was introduced to the world of Greek Myth when I was a youngin' , and was hooked ever since.

In College, I studied Myth, and a large part of my studies centered around Greek Tradgey.
I just finished the Oresteia and I am skimming through Sophocles' Oedipus' Cycle, having read it before.
The reading can be a bit difficult to the average reader, but with a little practice, the style seems easier than Clockwork Orange's slang.

I wondered if anyone reads greek plays for fun, or otherwise. I'm familiar with m ost of the Panthenon of the Gods, and have a smattering of knowledge of the major Myth stories. Yeah, Im a nerd.
-OoD

(phew, that wasn't so bad...i may get the hang of this

Extras: Filter Print Post Top
OfflineDiscordja
Pope

Loc: Atlantic Canada
Re: Greek tradgey [Re: Anonymous]
    #822099 - 08/16/02 07:12 PM (21 years, 7 months ago)

They made me read bits of Oedipus in my generic first year university Arts course. Didn't seem any trickier than Shakespeare, and a hell of a lot better than Chaucer. Regardless, I never got into it, but the Pantheon and their sundry Myths always intersted me.