Home | Community | Message Board

The Best Salvia
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: Original Seeds Store Buy CBD, Cannabis Seeds, Compare CBD   Amazon ½ Pint Jars, Agar, Petri Dish, Wild Bird Seed

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlineafdispatch
Stranger
Need Help Bad!!
    #825075 - 08/18/02 09:08 AM (15 years, 7 days ago)

This is my first attempt to grow mushrooms. I started off by cultivating spores in agar and I successfully obtained mycelium. Then, I pressure cooked my canning jars filled with birdseed/water and innoculated them with the mycelium from the petri dishes. It has been about a week since the innoculation and absolutely nothing has happened. No mycelium has grown, no contamination.....nothing. What could have gone wrong?? Could it be the birdseed??

Oh yea, here are a few things that could have gone wrong, but I'm not sure:

1) I think I used too much water, as the birdseed still looks kind of wet. Would this make the mycelium not grow?
2) I innoculated the jars when they were still pretty hot, so could this have possibly killed the mycelium?
3) I read once that some birdseed has a coating on it, and it should be removed, but I think this was mainly for contamination reasons.

Edited by afdispatch (08/18/02 10:32 AM)

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
Offlinewrestler_az
PsiLLy BiLLy
Male User Gallery Arcade Champion: Chopper Challenge

Loc: day dreams of a mad man
Re: Need Help Bad!! [Re: afdispatch]
    #825127 - 08/18/02 09:47 AM (15 years, 7 days ago)

just put them in the dark, sometimes it takes a while

--------------------
how's your WOW?