Home | Community | Message Board

MushroomCube.com
This site includes paid links. Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: North Spore North Spore Mushroom Grow Kits & Cultivation Supplies   Original Sensible Seeds Bulk Cannabis Seeds   MagicBag.co All-In-One Bags That Don't Suck, Certified Organic All-In-One Grow Bags by Magic Bag

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1
Some of these posts are very old and might contain outdated information. You may wish to search for newer posts instead.
Offlinejasong165
Stranger
wet jars??
    #8084981 - 02/29/08 05:26 AM (16 years, 1 month ago)

hello all,

this is my first time trying to grow and ive run into some concerns when i attempt to sterilize my jars in my pressure cooker.

im using 6 half pint jars (3 cups vermiculite, 1.5 cups BRF, 1.5 cups water) and i filled the top 1/2 inch with dry vermiculite. after i cook them in 1" of water on medium heat, the top layer of vermiculite appears to have become wet and move around. there is now open space at the tops of the jar, maybe 1/4" or so but its happened on all of the jars. i tried this with loosely screwed on lids (using tape over holes and 3 layers of foil over everything) and just foil over the holes (with sealed lid) and im getting the same results.

is this normal for the top layer of vermiculite to move like this? is this is a sign of moisture getting into the jars?

thanks all for your help. any tips would be appreciated since this is my first time.

Edited by jasong165 (02/29/08 05:42 PM)

Extras: Filter Print Post Top
Offlinewoefuljungle
here to gain andshare knowlege
Male

Loc: us
Re: wet jars?? [Re: jasong165]