Home | Community | Message Board

HighDesertSpores.com
Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: Kraken Kratom Kratom Capsules for Sale, Red Vein Kratom   PhytoExtractum Buy Bali Kratom Powder   Bridgetown Botanicals Bridgetown Botanicals

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next >  [ show all ]
Offlineranke
Space Pirate
Male User Gallery

Loc: Portland Oregon
"Evil docters, dangerous pharms..." Enough of this poppy cock
    #7545022 - 10/22/07 12:43 AM (13 years, 9 months ago)

After reading through a few of the threads in this section I must say I am thoroughly pissed off. As a pharmacology student I am at a loss for how so many people have come to the conclusion that doctors don't know shit, that anti-depressant, anti-anxiety, and ADD medications are dangerous and worthless, that any ol' herb is beneficial, and that exercise and proper diet fix everything. Before making such claims I suggest reading a few studies and educating yourself on the subject of neuropharmacology. For starters lets look at anti-depressants.

Anti-depressants
So before you go condemning all anti-depressants as just a way for pharmaceutical companies to make money (although that is one of their main functions) and that they serve no purpose, why not figure out how they work?

Currently most anti-depressants fall into one of the following categories:

SSRI's
This stands for Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors