Home | Community | Message Board

HighDesertSpores.com
Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: North Spore Injection Grain Bag, North Spore Mushroom Grow Kits & Cultivation Supplies   Left Coast Kratom Buy Kratom Extract, Kratom Powder For Sale   PhytoExtractum Maeng Da Thai Kratom Leaf Powder

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1
OfflineSeeker_Rose
Stranger
Sterilization Confusion
    #6589802 - 02/20/07 05:25 PM (14 years, 5 months ago)

Hello all, I am new and this is my first post. Not only am I new to the forum, I am also new to mushroom cultivation and I am about to begin my first attempt at growing using the PF Tek technique.

I am planning on sterlizing my jars (glasses, actually) with a traditional three-piece steamer. How long should I steam for?

I have also read that I can use aluminum foil to cover the tops of the cases - is it necessary to sterilize that as well, and if so, how?

My third and final question is does the chamber I am going to put them in after birthing need to be sterilized? It is plastic, and if it needs to be sterilized, I am not quite sure how I would go about that.

Post Extras: Filter  Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator Top
Invisibleagar
old hand
 User Gallery

Loc: Somewhere Else
Trusted Cultivator
Re: Sterilization Confusion [Re: Seeker_Rose]
    #6589848 - 02/20/07 05:37 PM (14 years, 5 months ago)

--------------------

Offlinejohnjohnson
Stranger

Re: Sterilization Confusion [Re: agar]
    #6590644 - 02/20/07 08:53 PM (14 years, 5 months ago)

i would seriously recommend you get a pressure cooker, because even pressure cooked jars using pf tek aren't fool proof.