Home | Community | Message Board

World Seed Supply
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Peat, Pressure Cooker, Ultrasonic Humidifier, Vermiculite

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineUnder_net
enthusiast
Loc: kentucky
First Time 50-50
    #535376 - 01/30/02 12:06 AM (14 years, 10 months ago)

This is my first time attempting casing, and I decided to give the 50-50tek a try. I used 50/5- verm:peat with no additives. I dampened to just weer i could queeze a little juice between my fingers and used the 50-50 for both below and above the mycelium.
After that I covered it with aluminum foil and I just placed it in my terrarium for a clean environment and poked a few holes in the top.

My question is this. The aluminum foil is touching the casing on a part of the casing. Is this bad, should I take the aluminum foil off. I kept it on to conseal the humidity becaue I have a hard time getting my system up to a high humidity. I know mycelium will grow on the sides of jars where it is touching glass so I assume it will work. But I dont like to assume things.

Thanks in advance

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
OfflineMattycelium

Re: First Time 50-50 [Re: Under_net]
    #535426 - 01/30/02 12:54 AM (14 years, 10 months ago)

Couple questions : 1) did you sterlized the soil?  2) why did you poke holes in the foil?

During the first stage of casing no light should get to the casing.  Doesnt matter if the foil is touching less its got contams on it, but just pop it in the oven....the oven solves all probs, the oven tek is great :smile: