Home | Community | Message Board

Gaiana.nl
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Vermiculite

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineSoulsvr
Stranger
Really really really a NEWBIE!
    #4679963 - 09/19/05 01:04 AM (11 years, 2 months ago)

:cool: Howdy All:
I am really new to this. I have a friend that is trying this. For the first attempt he used 4 jars. He followed the book to the tee. Every thing started out great. The jars collinised great in about 4 weeks. The jars where solid white and not contamination.
He took the top layer of vermiculite off put the top back on tapped it lightly. The cakes fell lose. GREAT.
Well he put them in my humidity tent and everything that was white imediately turned black. no color at all. He also noticed that his cakes where probably way to wet.. Being the waste not person he is, he thought he would not give up.
So he got 4 small bread pans , put about 1/2" of vermiculite on the bottom, broke the cakes up, then covered that up with 1/2" verniculite.
Now 2 weeks later. the white fuzz has fully colonized the substraight. Should I keep this stuff? what should I do now?
he has started his secog attempt being much more careful.
Please help. I think he can do this. the only thing he has a problem is from the jars to the caps. Noone is really clear what to do to produce fruiting.
Another delima. He is trying 2 things at once. besides jars he is using some bags with filters and syringe ports .  he has a bag fully colanized, but does not not what to do next. will they fruit in the bag doing nothing? should he just bring it out in the light.