Home | Community | Message Board

FreeSpores.com
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Hunting and Identification

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: Microscope

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlineliquidblue32
Stranger
 User Gallery
LBM ID in Pacific Northwest
    #4400685 - 07/13/05 06:50 PM (11 years, 4 months ago)

Im quite new at this. I was cutting the grass today in my backyeard and I noticed a bunch of small mushrooms growing under a leaf tree. The grass was quite long. Anyways These mushrooms looked similar to mushrooms that we useto pick in Chilliwack at a certain field that was known for its magic mushrooms. Anyways I wasnt sure, but i thought Id post these pics for interest, can anyone help me id these LBM's?

* Habitat -Back yard, taller grass, usually the lawn has lots of grass clippings that sit on it. The mushrooms were in clusters around the base of a leafy tree, not coniferous.

* Characteristics of the gills - semi-Light brown, Free from stem, and are close togeather.

* Characteristics of the stem (2-3 inches long, diameter, beige color, kindda moist and smooth, Hollow, thin, The stem breaked very eaily, felt like straw breaking when picked (only more fragile)

* Characteristics of the cap- caps ranged in size quite a bit most were around 1" wide, light golden brown fading to light beige, texture, conical & slightly Umbonates at top, the cap doesnt bend too too much, kinda reminds me of an oriental umbrella. The caps are more bell like when the mushrooms are smaller and baby like.

* Spore print color - im not 100% it looks like a very dark purple. maby a very dark grey.