Home | Community | Message Board

Crestline Sales - MycoPath
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, HEPA Filter, Rye Grain

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineStevo21
Aimless drifter

Casing contam question
    #4389874 - 07/10/05 03:46 PM (11 years, 5 months ago)

Hi everybody, so i've been doing pf jars for a couple years now no problem, but I recently switched to grains, and after a failed 1st attempt my jars (rye) are all looking good. I've never lost a pf casing before at my old place, and i was wondering as to why I can't get them to stay uncontaminated in my new one (closet setup, my clothes/casing supplies on rack above, low watt plant fluoro on 16 hrs/day, temp of closet is typically 84 degrees, but I use water ice bottles to lower temp). I have a small HEPA filter in the closet and I bleached it when I moved in, but I had to go out of town a couple days and my inexperienced roommates were in charge of fanning/controlling temps for me, I usually fan 3-5 times a day)It starts off as a small yellowish-brown patch, and rapidly turns the entire casing faint yellow/tan color within 72 hours. I'm especially wondering whether it is due to my inability to maintain proper humidity/temp levels (they fluctuated at first because I was unable to get temps low even though I was using several water bottles/bags of ice to drop the temp-could this be a source of contam?) My humidity was a little low (82-86%) and my temp a little high (75-80 degrees), and a fairly large pool of water below the casings in my terrarium from condensated water from the ice bottles. can anyone