Home | Community | Message Board

FreeSpores.com
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Contamination Forum

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Brown Rice Flour, Vermiculite

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlinewallywonks
Stranger
Newbie Question: tiny brownish-gray splotches in the substrate. Is it Bacillus?
    #4335342 - 06/25/05 10:22 AM (11 years, 5 months ago)

Hi all.

I'm a newbie at growing. I finally found someone who turned me on to to shrooms. Now I'm trying my own. I've been following the PF Tek.
I pressure cooked 12 half pint wide mouthed Ball jars. They had 1/2 cup vermiculite, 1/4 BRF and 1/4 distilled water each. I pressure cooked them with a 15psi Pressure canner I paid $60 for an hour after the rocker started rocking. I placed them in the cupboard awaiting the syringe in the mail. Its been a week now since I sterilized them. I've been keeping an eye on them and recently noticed very small like brownish-gray spots on the inside outer wall of most the jars with slight condensation. Their are some larger clumps of brownish-gray splotches maybe they look almost like unmixed BRF smooshed together within the substrate air holes. I didn't pack the substrate down. I left gaps in it like it said. On the bottom of most the jars, it looks like BRF smooshed on the bottom. I compared my jars to the contamination pictures from the contam faq. They aren't as greasy as them if at all. Not greasy just little tiny clumps of brownish-gray.

Some of the gaps have what look like off white clumps when i magnified the jar.