Home | Community | Message Board

Everything Mushrooms
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Coir, Perlite, Vermiculite, Wild Bird Seed

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlineprefloppro
Last Call
Ok Here Goes my first casing
    #4250289 - 06/02/05 11:34 PM (11 years, 6 months ago)

Ok I just want to make sure I have everything correct, this is my first attempt to case.

Ok I will be spawning 3 wbs quart jars in 4 lbs of pre sterilized substrate then casing with verm and coir (first question how deep should this top casing layer be?)

Second question when spawning I need to let it incubate till the myc. starts to pop through the substrate, then i need to add top casing layer of verm. (is this required that i wait till i put top layer on). I will get a aluminum fool pan and mix in that. (should i use perlite on bottom to bring up humidity in this first stage?)

Ok once the myc. starts to poke up it is advisable to give it a ten degree drop in temp, and the foil removed from the top of the pan, and this is when you start to fan a couple times or more a day. My incubating chamber and fruiting chamber is one in the same, except i don't use perlite when incubating, maybe i should because humidity at all times in my house is like 50 percent right? is that advisable?

If their is anything i am missing please let me know. I will be doing all this tomorrow.

The substrate mix I am using consists of screened dung, verm, spawnmate and some other nutrients for the mushrooms. When i spawn all i need to do is break up the wbs cakes and mix it good with the substrate.