Home | Community | Message Board

Azarius
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop: ½ Pint Jars, Brown Rice Flour, HEPA Filter

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlineredshadow
Kaskaladin' OnBy
 User Gallery

questions for an anxious newbie
    #4088487 - 04/23/05 03:05 PM (12 years, 5 months ago)

hey everybody,

im a newbie and this is my first time growing. so far so good, i have four nearly colonized BRF cakes(that are taking forever to colonize!). only one was contaminaed with those crappy black pin heads that gorw off of carbohydrates or whatever. i had a couple questions:

My incubator is at optimal conditions 82-86F, usually 84F, but its been about 23 days and none of the cakes have fully colonized although some are close. i diddnt pack my cackes to tightly and im thinking that mabey thats why its taking so long, some of the sides i inclonated did not germinate. i also have no light source for the mycelium, do they need that? what about for pinning? What can i do to accelerate the growth of the mycelium? is levaing a small vent for air of pass though the incubator slowing the mycelium?

Also how long do i have to leave the light on when my cakes are fruting? ive herd three hours a day is ok, ive also herd that some thing like 12 hours a day is needed. 12 hours seems kinda crazy but im also thinkin' 3 may not be enough. the friuting chamber is in my closet and the 10 gallon tank is wraped in balck paper so no light will get in unless its from the top, and even then is will be very little considering its in my closet.

--------------------