Home | Community | Message Board

SoulSpeciosa Kratom
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Hunting and Identification

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineBtrflyksss
NatureArtist
my thesis is on mushrooms, i need help with identifying a species found in NC.
    #4012582 - 04/04/05 02:22 PM (11 years, 8 months ago)

I'm doing my undergrad thesis on mushrooms, I'm an art student and I'm making realistic sculpture using 6 species, 3 of which i have found in the field and have tried to identify on my own. I've found identifications for 2 of the three found mushrooms, but the one i have not found anything like it. it is a white stalkless, almost half a cap growing from the wound of a tree. these caps are gilled and grow in groups and solitary with out fusion between each other. the caps i found were about 3 inches wide- about 9 inches wide. I've looked in many mycology books, and on many mycology websites, and have not found anything resembling this fungus. the closest i found to be this mushroom is a euro birch (something). i didn't write down the last word, i don't remember what it was, but couldn't find anything on euro birch anything. my thesis is on April 29, but i need time to do research and write up about this and my other mushrooms, if anyone thinks they can help me please respond to this or email me (preferably LaurenJ_Hill@hotmail.com) thank you i hope someone can help.

--------------------
art is everywhere you go, OPEN YOUR EYES!!

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
Offlineagr8fulchick
Feed Your Head!

Loc: Stranded in Iowa