Home | Community | Message Board

Edabea
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Vermiculite

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlineibreaktheglass
Stranger
Greetings.
    #3680497 - 01/26/05 12:28 AM (11 years, 10 months ago)

Hello everyone. I'm a new here at the shroomery (at least as a member) although I have lurked for quite some time now. The information here has been extremely helpful. Although I would consider myself an experienced tripper, I am a rookie with the whole mycology thing. I decided to start growing myself as a result of my frustration with the lack of availability in my area. It's the same story I'm sure many of you have heard a hundred times: A friend of a friend of a friend has some....blah blah blah...It usually all ends up with my not having any tasty fungus in the end. The whole process is just a hassle. Not to mention the cost. After doing plenty of research here, I started up a little growth of my own, currently in progress. I'm using the PF tek of course, with some mexi-cubs, along with the "Poorman's Pod" setup courtesy of magash. I birthed my first 6 cakes last night, with 3 more still finishing up in the incubator (lost one to a nasty green mold). With any luck, I might actually pull this off.

The only question I have at the moment is about yields. I really dont know what to expect. I know there are numerous factors, but roughly what kind of yield would 9 mexi cakes under good conditions give me? Just out of curiousity, I guess. I was thinking to do twice as many cakes, but figured to start small for my first go at it.