Home | Community | Message Board

Lil Shop Of Spores
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Agar, Autoclave, Coir, HEPA Filter, Mycobags, Peat, Rye Grain, Scales, Vermiculite, Wild Bird Seed

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineArmageddon
Angel of Death
 User Gallery

Loc: London, UK
Hydrogen Peroxide growing in non sterile conditions
    #3640880 - 01/17/05 10:15 PM (12 years, 2 months ago)

I am very new to shroom growing however I have read widely on the subject over the years and especially recently and I am familiar with the various methods however I have no practical experience apart from some rice cakes that I just inoculated. Since I am in the UK however I see no reason why I shouldn't attempt overt bulk growing since I have a large spare room and I have anyway been using (buying) shrooms and other substances for years. However before I start building a glove box or a Hepa filter fan and purchase mycobags etc., I am curious about the Hydrogen Peroxide method.

According to R.R. Wayne, who has published a book on this subject and has a FAQ on http://www.mycomasters.com/index.html#Top?FAQs
he claims that the advantages of the HP method are:

(quote)
>Grow mushroom cultures in an ordinary room.

>Handle cultures in the open air in a kitchen or non-sterile >workshop.

>Protect cultures from bacteria, yeast, mold, and mushroom spores.

>Prepare mushroom cultures without an autoclave.

>Prepare bulk fruiting substrate at room temperature, without >heating and cooling.

>Do away with costly filter-patch culture bags; use ordinary >trashbags instead.