Home | Community | Message Board

SoulSpeciosa Kratom
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Rye Grain

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
contam or not
    #3611982 - 01/11/05 11:52 AM (11 years, 9 months ago)

HI, i'm new at this whole thing and its my first time trying to grow. I won't be surprised if you tell me to through it out, but had i did what this site and the download on it says i would have thrown them out when everything first appeared. But its about day 12 and 2 out of 3 jars are finally starting to go crazy. But one of those jars i'm unsure about. Now when you say that the mycelium is white, well i seen that. But what color does it start as. I'm using whole rye grain, and i'm bad with colors when there faint. But when you look at the start of growth it looks grayish in color to me. And i've noticed that all the gray spots i've seen pop up have all turned bright white. I even noticed that its not bright white everywhere, only around the edges of expansion. But anyway the question i have is there is a spot on my jar where there are a few grains that look gray. Is this normal? And if it is a contam could i separate it out an use the good mycelium on the opposite side of the jar to inoculate another jar? I check my jars twice a day 12 hours apart, and it just appeared overnight. And i've read that if its a contam to through the whole thing out, and i just can't see why you couldn't use some of what might still be good, have you tried it? I'm not trying too question your info and i understand that the contam and mycelium can share a nutrient network and make t