Home | Community | Message Board

Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> The Psychedelic Experience

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1

Loc: Washington State
Noobs first post
    #3196341 - 09/29/04 05:59 PM (12 years, 25 days ago)

Hello to all. I just discovered this site yesterday after doing a google search on shroom identification and information. I have been reading the basic FAQ's and getting a feel for the organisation of the Forums. I'm really impressed with the feel this community puts forth and I hope that over time I can contribute to its value and health.

I am new to shroom identification and have always relied on trusted friends to supply the fruit. My experiences are limited to cubencis and liberty caps, neither very extensive. I am lucky to have alot of free time on my hands at present and I live in the Washington State, so when I stumbled on some mushrooms the other day I realised tis the season, and have set out to learn a few things in order to possibly harvest some wild "edibles".

There are a few online things I haven't found yet in the FAQ's and post searches that I'm hoping someone can point me too.

Is there a step by step identification primer, or something similar, that walks you through how to identify what kind of fungus you are looking at?

Being ignorant, how can I most quickly narrow down what family of shroom I am looking at. Is there an "audobon like" set of pictures one can use to narrow down the process? I am going to the library here in a little bit, but I'm kind of expecting that most of the material will be checked out right now.