Home | Community | Message Board

This site includes paid links. Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: Kraken Kratom Red Vein Kratom   PhytoExtractum Maeng Da Thai Kratom Leaf Powder   Mushroom-Hut Substrate Mix

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1
Some of these posts are very old and might contain outdated information. You may wish to search for newer posts instead.
OfflineYahoKa
Just a guy.

Loc: Canadian
Dunk and Birth, or wait for invitro pins?
    #3027827 - 08/20/04 09:11 AM (19 years, 6 months ago)

I'm a newb, so as always, bare with me =)

Out of 9 cakes, 3 are already colonized with mycelium. They are still in the dark, and have not pinned. The cakes have shrunk quite a lot after being colonized with mycelium, so I think they have perhaps lost water. I want some opinions on whether I should dunk the cake and then birth it (exposing to light, no cold shocking), or if I should expose them to light in the jars to initiate pinning.

Also, anyone have a link to a dunk tek - i've read them before but now I can't find a link to one, and the search turns up nothin.

--------------------
Hang on tightly ... and let go lightly.

Extras: Filter Print Post Top
Offlinemeanoldman
old guy
Re: Dunk and Birth, or wait for invitro pins? [Re: YahoKa]
    #3028008 - 08/20/04 10:05 AM (19 years, 6 months ago)

Let them get some light and pin out before birthing. The original PF TEK says to do that, and I agree. I always let PF cakes get pins prior to birthing, and I get great results. Since you are new at this, fewer things can be muffed up if you let em pin before removing. Try dunk & roll after you get the regular TEK down a few times, not this time.