Home | Community | Message Board

Shroom Supply
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Hunting and Identification

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: Microscope, Paul Stamets

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlinewallace
Male

Loc: Canada
few newbie questions
    #3008297 - 08/16/04 09:17 AM (12 years, 3 months ago)

Hi, I am a newbie here, and very much at the guidebook stage. I have a few questions that have been building up.
First, I am puzzled by naming. Sometimes when a specific mushroom gets talked about, the genus name seems to vary rather than the specific epithet. Case in point, the haymaker's. My guide calls it the Psathyrella foeniscecii, but on this forum it has been called the Panaeolus foeniscecii (I think). Same goes for what my guide calls the Anelliaria anitillarum. On this forum the epithet has been used, but with a different genus. I do not understand how the epithet is the same and the genus different. Should be opposite. And my guide indicates that this particular mushroom should give you the runs AND make you high. The experts on this list claim this is NOT an active mushroom, but just the same, are there any other psilocybin mushrooms that are *poisonous* (dicey topic when we are talking about mushrooms) and *active*? In other words, the mushroom brings you to having serious thoughts about a higher power, and then you die anyway.