Home | Community | Message Board

Phytoextractum
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Advanced Mycology

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlineforgery
general allround humanbeing
Coffee and Subaeruginosa - Anyone tried it?
    #2919873 - 07/23/04 11:46 AM (12 years, 4 months ago)

Has anyone tested the effects of coffee on subs? I have just started my first sub experiments on pine bark.

(quick disclaimer - I have limited practical experience with growing shrooms, ok I'll admit it I'm a noob - BUT I have read lots and lots and lots and lots and lots etc. of shroomy stuff, mostly on the Shroomery  :tongue:)

Method:
1. Pasteurise pine bark for an hour or so, then drain off all the water.
2. Put in old 2 or 4 litre ice-cream container.
3. Put some 'myc-chips' from local patch or 'cardboard-myc' into the container with pine bark.
4. Seal container to retain moisture.
5. Sit and contemplate how easy it is to cultivate wood-lovers hahahaha  :cool: (saying something that arrogant is bound to get the attention of the ShroomGods who will no doubt make all my future grows contam  :wink: )

I did one container following the above method, and another one with two tablespoons of organic ground coffee added to the pasteurising stage.

My predictions are that the coffee grow will grow faster, but possibly contam (pine bark on its own doesn't generally contam with the normal moulds, right?) - and the non-coffee one will grow slower but surer.

Has anyone done any similar experiments? Anyone done anything with coffee and subs? Coffee and wood-lovers in general?

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator