Home | Community | Message Board

Mushrooms.com
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Air Pump, Air Stone, Perlite, Rye Grain, Scales, Wild Bird Seed

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Invisible1Badfish
 User Gallery
Aquairum pump idea, good or bad?
    #2732947 - 05/26/04 05:16 PM (12 years, 10 months ago)

I'm pretty new at this so heres the question; CO2 is heavier so it settles at the bottom of the chamber, so what if my I drilled a few holes just above the layer of perlite and introduced fresh air from the top via aquairum pump. Will the settled CO2 be pushed out of the holes and be replaced by fresh air, or will it just stir up the CO2 just to settle later? BTW the holes would be plugged when not in use. Thanks.

--------------------

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
InvisibleDieCommie
Re: Aquairum pump idea, good or bad? [Re: 1Badfish]
    #2732991 - 05/26/04 05:24 PM (12 years, 10 months ago)

I think the idea that CO2 sinks in a small aquarium enviroment, is way over done....Sure CO2 may be more dense....but the properties of gasses arent such that a layer of CO2 only will form on the bottom....

I assume what your interestd in is just adding fresh air right? What I and many others do is put the pumps output hose under the water on the bottom....then the air will absorb water vapor....and go up through the aquarium and exit through small openings in the lid.

Invisible1Badfish
 User Gallery
Re: Aquairum pump idea, good or bad? [Re: DieCommie]
    #2733128 - 05/26/04 05:51 PM (12 years, 10 months ago)