Home | Community | Message Board

This site includes paid links. Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: North Spore Bulk Substrate   Unfolding Nature Unfolding Nature: Being in the Implicate Order   Original Sensible Seeds Bulk Cannabis Seeds   Mushroom-Hut Liquid Cultures   Myyco.com Isolated Cubensis Liquid Culture For Sale   MagicBag.co All-In-One Bags That Don't Suck   Left Coast Kratom Buy Kratom Capsules   PhytoExtractum Buy Bali Kratom Powder

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1
OfflineKurterino
Stranger
 User Gallery
What's the deal with spores to grain? It works for me...
    #27000680 - 10/24/20 12:04 AM (3 years, 5 months ago)

I'm pretty new to mushroom cultivation (and to this forum), and I have a few successful harvests under my belt (not great ones, but good ones), but there's one thing I still don't quite get: Why is it so "bad" to inoculate grain jars directly with a spore syringe? I've read a lot about agar and even gave it a try and it failed (I know it's a good technique and that I must have done something wrong), so I just went back to spore to grain, it's so much simpler, and it hasn't failed my once, over more than a dozen jars. (I know, small sample size, but as long as it works, why worry?)
Granted, both of my spore syringes came from a reputable shop in Amsterdam, and now I've made one myself, so is the problem with spore to grain that a lot of spore syringes are not very good quality (i.e. containing contaminations, or not a lot of spores)? For me, the procedure is so easy and has been successful every time so far, can someone give me a good reason why it's "bad"?

Extras: Filter Print Post Top
OfflineSingularFusion