Home | Community | Message Board

MushroomCube.com
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Getting Started

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: North Spore Injection Grain Bag, North Spore Mushroom Grow Kits & Cultivation Supplies   Left Coast Kratom Buy Kratom Powder   PhytoExtractum Maeng Da Thai Kratom Leaf Powder   Amazon ½ Pint Jars, Brown Rice Flour, Perlite, Vermiculite

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineSKinamoto17
Stranger
 User Gallery
Contamination on Caps in SGFC
    #26688348 - 05/22/20 02:49 PM (7 days, 15 hours ago)

Hey everyone! It's my first time growing and I've certainly made a few mistakes along the way - but I've also learned a lot. I am using BRF cakes and a SGFC for my first grow. Of the 10 jars, 7 colonized successfully and seemingly without contamination. The other 3 did nothing at all... don't think I really shook the spore syringe much as it was full to the brim. Anyway, when I transferred them to the SGFC I didn't have a spray bottle to mist them. For a couple of days I was flicking water into the tub using a nylon bristle brush meant for rubbing sauces on meats. Don't worry - its sterile and I actually have never cooked with it. My cakes definitely dried out a bit as a result, and I got a spray bottle for misting now.

They've been in the tub for about a week, with proper care only in the last 2-3 days. A few pins sprouted early and the caps became very large. With proper moisture and airflow, many more pins are beginning to sprout. Unfortunately the large caps have developed a green/gray tinge on them which looks to be a mold.