Home | Community | Message Board

Marijuana Demystified
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop: Mycobags

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlinetopiltzin
Stranger
Double innoculation?
    #2342327 - 02/16/04 06:46 PM (13 years, 4 months ago)

I'm a newbie that made several mistakes with his first mycobag attempt.    I made a pretty bad mess and am wondering about how to fix it...

I. First off, I bought spores from "Some Guy On Ebay"(tm).  This is the easiest to fix :wink:

II. Second, when I innoculated them, I did the following stupid things:
  1. Did it over a gas oven.  The bags were about 10" above the flames.  I thought this way they would be less susceptible to contamination, but now I realize I may have heated the spores too much.
  2.  Didn't use alcohol lamp but an ordinary lighter to sterilize the needle.  It turned black at least during one innoculation.
  3.  Injected about 2cc directly in the center of the substrate instead on the side on all bags except one.  (I hold the Golden Oyster  Kit instructions on ShamanShop partially responsible for this! :wink:)

III. I didn't unfold the bags, didn't keep them in upright position and didn't break the substrate up until about 10 days later (this is probably my worst mistake)

IV.  At least twice during the first two weeks the temperature had gone up to at least 95F due to my negligence.

And the results: