Home | Community | Message Board

Vaposhop
Please support our sponsors.

General Interest >> Philosophy, Sociology & Psychology

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Invisiblereflectedlight
in town untilthe blood flows
 User Gallery

Loc: aether
A real halloween thread..
    #2046849 - 10/27/03 10:29 AM (13 years, 11 months ago)

I am no expert on the subject, but I have read a few websites today and summarized for you all.

Halloween is also known as All Hallow?s Eve, aka Feast of the Dead, aka Samhain (a sabbath for modern pagans?) The Celts are the first recorded to practice it. It was a day of honoring the dead and Samhain, the lord of death. People dressed as dead relatives. Some offered food and drink to keep spirits at bay. (I also read some extreme druids did sacrifice animals and men.)

Then the Celts were conquered, their practice got absorbed by the Romans and became a joint festival, also honoring Pomona. Once Christianity started to flourish, the celebration got mixed with their myths of demons and evil spirits. It was introduced to the U.S. by the British while the were populating the colonies, even though the puritans were against it. Now the celebration is, for most, a childrens holiday, in which over a billion dollars are spent on candy and costumes each.

This occured to me... The ?witches? who were burned, drowned or crushed because of the Witch Trials and The Inquisition... a good many of them may have been using psychoactive plants/fungii. And people who do such today are still considered evil, are trialed if caught, and locked away to rot to death in prison.

--------------------