Home | Community | Message Board

Lil Shop Of Spores
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Hunting and Identification

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Original Seeds Store Shop: Buy CBD, Cannabis Seeds, Compare CBD

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflinePNWmushman
newguy

Loc: Seattle, WA
Cyan's VS Deadlies
    #1984404 - 10/06/03 06:39 PM (13 years, 11 months ago)

I'm new to this, and am hunting cyans in the northwest. I have a question that I have not found a satisfactory answer to in the fax or guides... I am trying to find a reasonably sure way to tell between deadly galarina species and Cyans besides sporeprint. Generally, pictures of cyans seem more wavy (right?), but I've seen pictures of exceptions of both species that look like each other. In many guides, it seems that they are almost identical considering possible variation among mushshrooms. Also, the spore print color seems kind of qualitative - (brown rust vs brown purplish.) Is the blue brusing, print, and wavyness enough ID to trust one enough to eat? I wondered if there was a list of things I could check so I could be sure I am eating the right thing. By the way- is there a test (chemical or otherwise) that can test for posison in mushrooms (like the metol test for psy.)?

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
Invisiblemjshroomer
Sage
Loc: gone with my shrooms
Re: Cyan's VS Deadlies [Re: PNWmushman]
    #1984425 - 10/06/03 06:46 PM (13 years, 11 months ago)

There are comparison photos of Galerina species and P. cyanescens and p. stuntzii at my site at:

http://www.mushroomjohn.com/species.html