Home | Community | Message Board

Kratom Eye
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Agar, Vermiculite, Wild Bird Seed

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineOpenminded
Dicotyledon

Loc: England.
Inoculating with mushed up shroom tissue..?
    #1858269 - 08/28/03 09:49 AM (13 years, 3 months ago)

OK, I'm new to this, so please excuse any stupidity. I have searched but not found a definite answer either here or on the web, so here goes...

In theory, would it be possible to put a few shrooms in a blender/food processor, add water and whizz it to form a thin soup, and then inoculate an agar mixture or rice/vermiculite jars with that?

I know mushroom tissue will grow if you cut out a sterile bit and place it onto agar, but I'm not sure if it'd still work after you reduce it to a soup, eg a mouse will grow if you feed it, but not after you put it in a blender...

The reason for asking is that it would seem to be easier than spore printing, then making a spore syringe and inoculating with that. Although perhaps contamination would be more likely...