Home | Community | Message Board

RVF Garden Supply
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: Pressure Cooker

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflineThe_LosT_SouL
Experimentor
NEED INFO ON CASINGS. READ FAQ
    #1743732 - 07/24/03 05:02 AM (13 years, 4 months ago)

1. I am new to mushroom cultivation so please excuse my lack of terms and proper wording for this post. I am very very much a n00b and require quick assistance from you kind, helpful, and generous shroomerites out there.

- WHAT IS THE BEST WAY TO STERILIZE CASING SOIL

I read a tek that caught my interest today, sounded pretty efficient and easy. http://www.shroomery.org/index/par/7977 . I read about pasterizing the stuff in a pillow case ontop of a boiling pot of water.. I don't have a pressure cooker and was wondering if there was a less silly, more efficient way to sterilize the soil. I hear that it's not nessecary to do so, but it is a good idea to reduce the chance of contams. I also read that someone, an experianced grower, puts his soil bag, after sterilization in a pc, outside, unsealed, with something holding the bags closed. claims that it will put required nutrients, that get lossed during cooking, back into the substrate, and keeps the bugs out. I don't know how safe of an idea this is, but he says it works.

- HOW DEEP SHOULD CASING TREY BE

I have rubbermaid containers, for chambers. Standard size, about 2 1/2' by 1 1/4' by 3' or so dimensions. I was going to get a trey that would fit into that, the entire thing, minus the one inch wall space. I was going to use a trey 4" deep for the entire casing.