Home | Community | Message Board

Kratom Eye
Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: Bridgetown Botanicals CBD Edibles   Left Coast Kratom Buy Kratom Extract, Kratom Powder For Sale   North Spore Injection Grain Bag, North Spore Mushroom Grow Kits & Cultivation Supplies   PhytoExtractum Kratom Powder for Sale

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1
OfflineLarz
Stranger
how to create shiitake plugs from grain spawn ?
    #15661048 - 01/13/12 04:06 PM (9 years, 9 months ago)

I am fairly new to growing mushrooms. I have inoculated some logs with shiitake plugs last year and hope to have some mushrooms this spring from that. I think I ended up paying something like $40 for 300 plugs when you include the mailing costs. I seemed to have heard something about creating your own plugs by soaking and boiling dowels and then putting them in a plastic bag with some grain spawn. I am interested in trying this and finding out more on how to do that ..

I am also interested in any books. I have a book, but it's about cultures in petri dishes and very involved. This grain spawn thing seems a little easier and worth trying perhaps ..

Extras: Filter Print Post Remind Me! Notify Moderator Top
Invisibleatricoz
O.o
 User Gallery

Loc: Italy Flag
Re: how to create shiitake plugs from grain spawn ? [Re: Larz]
    #15661098 - 01/13/12 04:17 PM (9 years, 9 months ago)

You can make plugs easily, soaking dowels for a while, then sterilizing them in a jar, and inoculating them with some grain spawn.

The best book on mushroom cultivation is GGMM, you can find it here

http://www.amazon.com/Growing-Gourmet-Medicinal-Mushrooms-Stamets/dp/1580081754

--------------------

OfflineLarz