Home | Community | Message Board

Edabea
Please support our sponsors.

General Interest >> Philosophy, Sociology & Psychology

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
InvisibleSwami
Eggshell Walker

Loc: In the hen house
Right Livelihood
    #1419879 - 03/31/03 03:01 PM (13 years, 8 months ago)

I bring up the following, not to boast, but because I frequently get berated from girlfriends and family, "Why don"t you get a real job and do something productive?" as if my lifestyle is somehow immoral. It may be unstable, but wrong!? I provide a service; it is called entertainment.

This may come as little surprise to you folks, but I make my living playing the odds; gambling, if you will. ( I won't count selling my body to lonely women...) I do this in three arenas: backgammon, poker, and the stock market which is why I am online so much.

I have been accused of being a hustler which is false. A hustler misrepresents his ability: "Aww shucks, I never played this game before..." and is dishonest.

Now there are times when I may take actions that may be considered misleading (such as starting with a questionable opening move in backgammon), but it is my opponent that assigns meaning to my action. He is free to interpret as he wishes. I neither encourage nor discourage such speculation. In poker such misdirection is considered a vital part of the game and is not looked down upon.