Home | Community | Message Board

This site includes paid links. Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: PhytoExtractum Kratom Powder for Sale   Kraken Kratom Red Vein Kratom   Mushroom-Hut Mono Tub Substrate   Bridgetown Botanicals CBD Concentrates   North Spore Boomr Bag

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1
Some of these posts are very old and might contain outdated information. You may wish to search for newer posts instead.
Offlinegeo2001m
Raider Nation
Casing Help
    #1373875 - 03/13/03 07:00 PM (21 years, 20 days ago)

Hi, First of all this is my first try, so far so good, I started my 6 1/2 Pint Jars on the 6th and they are 100%. They are B+, I'm going to wait another week too make sure the insides of the cake is done also. But here is my question, I have a few bags of vermiculite, peat moss. I was going too case with that, do you guys suggest any other material too case with? I kinda wanna do this slow and right. Any suggestions would be great. Also I'll be using pertile at the bottom for humidity inside of a clear rubbermaid case. Thanks.

Extras: Filter Print Post Top
InvisibleSixTango
Mycota

Loc: A little North of Paradis...
Re: Casing Help [Re: geo2001m]
    #1373941 - 03/13/03 07:32 PM (21 years, 20 days ago)

IMHO, 1 part peat, 1 part coir, 1 part verm, is the best casing mixure.

Test pH with a pH meter (available @ any garden store from $7 to $20 -- or limus strips) & adjust with hydrated lime (fast, Hoffmans brand --  if you can find it - @ any good garden supply stores).

Then -- add crushed oyster shell, crushed egg shell or limestone grit as a long lasting buffering agent.

Optimal casing pH is right around 7.5.