Home | Community | Message Board

Original Seeds Store - Cannabis Seeds
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop for: ½ Pint Jars, Brown Rice Flour, Vermiculite

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflinemindXplorer
mind xplorer

Getting started on B+
    #1256319 - 01/28/03 05:49 PM (14 years, 1 month ago)

Hi!,

I just ordered my first strain ever, B+.

This is my first time to ever grow shrooms and I am still looking for the best method. Which do you think I should try for the first time. I want good yields but I also want it to be semi-easy and dont want to spray the shrooms for humiditiy everyday. Choices...

1) Using Reynolds Oven Bags for "myco-bags" with a mixture of vermiculite and brown rice flour for the substrate. Sterilize by puting in the oven at 250C for 30min. If i choose this method do I need water to add to the substrate? Also do I not need to open the bags until harvest just like the myco-bags? I could add a filter tube in the top of the bag just like a filter patch. Would this work?

2) Pasteuring straw at 170F to kill off harmful bacteria but keep helful bacteria. When fruiting with this method does it need to be enclosed? Do I need to adjust humidity and add heat?

3) Good old fashioned PK-Tek using caning jars. This seems more work than the bag method because of the pressure cooking. Also Ive read that yields arent very good because the cakes are so small compared to a large bin of straw or a bag of substrate.