Home | Community | Message Board

Sporeworks
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> The Psychedelic Experience

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlinejoerol
Loner
Help, need a question answered
    #1183157 - 01/01/03 03:38 PM (14 years, 8 months ago)

This is my first time posting here but I have a question now I know that you can't get in a permanent mind trip but my friend swears to god that he is in a permanent mind trip and I haven't seen him since the last time we tripped(3 days ago) I haven't physically talked to him but I talked to his brother and he says he is messed up, now I just want assurance that this can't be for real, thanks.

Post Extras: Print Post  Remind Me! Notify Moderator
OfflineMarkostheGnostic
Elder
Male User Gallery

Loc: South Florida
Re: Help, need a question answered [Re: joerol]
    #1183489 - 01/01/03 07:22 PM (14 years, 8 months ago)

Psychedelics can and do precipitate symptoms of mental illness. This occurs when mental illness is already present and the psychedelic reduces the ego-defenses that lots of people at this forum refer to as 'ego-loss.' This might sound a bit technical (I am a psychotherapist), but the point is that psychedelics can even produce their own disorder - Hallucinogen Persistent Perceptual Disorder, in which visuals and auditory distortions do not subside. Schizophrenia, if already 'under the surface', can become symptomatic.