Home | Community | Message Board

Mycohaus
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Contamination Forum

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: Original Seeds Store Buy CBD, Cannabis Seeds, Compare CBD   Amazon ½ Pint Jars, Paul Stamets

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
OfflinePiznipyPsilocybe
Stranger

Eating "contaminated" mushrooms
    #11396903 - 11/06/09 12:14 PM (7 years, 11 months ago)

OK, this is my first time growing although I have already been through too many flushes to count without a hitch.  :smile:

I had this cake that grew all the way until the bottom of the jar and I spotted some yellow. :shocked:

Right away I took the cake out to throw it away and scraped the yellow portion into the trash.  The cake looked so healthy it was a shame to see it go to waste.  So I did an experiment,  I put it into my orchid terrarium and buried it a little bit to see if the mycelium would colonize the soil.  It definitely did but then almost overnight I see HUNDREDS of perfect mushrooms come up.  They seem so healthy,  almost more healthy than the ones in the dinky pearlite terrarium. 

At first I was thinking of just using these ones for spore prints, throwing at friends, decorating the walls etc.....  but looking at these and considering I might flip a hippy this weekend,  I am thoroughly tempted to cut em. 

Now I think I remember reading (I believe it was stamets,  all praise stamets:mushroom2:)  that you can boil the mushrooms for 5 minutes to sanitize them and not lose the chemicals.  Supposing the mushrooms look healthy and I boil them,  good times ahead?  Please hurry,  the time I would do this is tomorrow. . .