Home | Community | Message Board

Avalon Magic Plants
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop: ½ Pint Jars, Vermiculite

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
InvisiblePangolin
Gardener
Female

Loc: Around
Cultivation newbie-
    #11348593 - 10/29/09 11:28 PM (7 years, 11 months ago)

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this. Really new. I recently kinda "inherited" a set-up. Long story short, a friend of ours is relocating out of country so he gave his operation to my husband. At some point the two of them made some substrate jars which went into our closet (they don't remember what the date was- thanks, guys). I don't know when he was expecting colonization, but when they left on business Monday, the jars still weren't ready.

So here I am. I've been doing a LOT of research. I have 5 medium jars, 1 of which began in-vitro pinning yesterday, one is fully colonized with no pins, and the other 3 are about 95% colonized. I decided to go the route of the shotgun terrarium (can't remember the name of the tek... I've looked at a bunch of them... it's the one by RR).

I've been pretty nervous about actually taking the cakes out of the jars. Lots of stuff to mess up... Disaster did strike. The lids were on too tight, cakes got stuck in the jars, once they were finally out, I couldn't keep them fully submerged in the small dunking chambers... It wasn't pretty and I'm really hoping I didn't do too much damage to the one cake when I used the knife to pry it out. We'll see how it looks tomorrow.