Home | Community | Message Board

Gaiana.nl
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop: ½ Pint Jars, Agar, HEPA Filter, Incense, Laminar Flow Hood, Petri Dish

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1 | 2 | Next >  [ show all ]
OfflinePuma
surfing when I can
Male

Loc: The Great Beyond
question regarding laminar flow
    #11212465 - 10/09/09 02:40 AM (8 years, 2 months ago)

Howdy. I'm new to the world of home mycology, but very keen. My one previous attempt (back in 1996) was a disaster of contamination. This time, I'll try to do it right. I just bought a 24x24x11.5 pleated HEPA filter and the associated hardware to construct a laminar flow hood.

My question has to do with the theory of laminar flow over a smooth surface. ALL of the flow hoods I have seen have the filter raised about an inch above the countertop, essentially the width of the filter frame and the bottom of the box. So, if the flow hood is blowing out a laminar flow of essentially sterile air, that clean air will miss the bottom inch directly above the countertop. Am I right to assume that contaminated air sneaks into that space? And if you put a petri dish or a syringe down on the counter, even directly in front of the flow hood, it could be bathing in contaminants, because it is not tall enough to reach the laminar flow?

If I understand this correctly, the laminar flow hood is only useful as long as you are holding things up in the space directly in front of the filter, but that the layer of air above the counter is potentially unclean, even if you've wiped it with alcohol and taken other precautions.