Home | Community | Message Board

RVF Garden Supply
Please support our sponsors.

Mushrooms, Mycology and Psychedelics >> Mushroom Cultivation

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Amazon Shop: ½ Pint Jars, Pressure Cooker, Rye Grain

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
Offlinesgaltair
Aspiring Mycologist
Male User Gallery
Loc: Gainesville, Florida, USA
I'm in a bit of a pickle
    #11163311 - 10/01/09 01:28 PM (8 years, 1 month ago)

Alright, so I'm new to all this, as I'm sure everyone can tell.

I'm trying to grow P. Galindii, a stone producer. I'm using Rye Grass Seed and quart jars.

Here's my problem: I don't have a pressure cooker. Nearly every source I find says that doing grain jars without a pressure cooker is just begging for a contamination disaster.

With that in mind, I'm trying it anyway. I'm sure it's foolish to think that I can, with no experience, pull this off - but I wanted to get started, even if it means failing. I am going to make a liquid culture of my spores so that I won't run out of inoculant. 

Here's my setup:
Large pot, with a cloth on the bottom and filled about halfway up my jars with water. Another pot sitting in the rim of the first, upside down (it fits rather snugly). I then put yet another pot, filled with water, on top of the second one to weigh it down. I'm not fooling myself, I know this isn't going to achieve adequate pressure. I'm just hoping it helps a little.