Home | Community | Message Board

Mycohaus
This site includes paid links. Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: Unfolding Nature Unfolding Nature: Being in the Implicate Order   North Spore Bulk Substrate   Original Sensible Seeds Bulk Cannabis Seeds   MagicBag.co All-In-One Bags That Don't Suck   Mushroom-Hut Substrate Bags

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1
Some of these posts are very old and might contain outdated information. You may wish to search for newer posts instead.
Offlinefirsttimer101
Stranger
Slow colonization--need advice please!
    #3668236 - 01/23/05 02:45 PM (19 years, 2 months ago)

I'm new to growing and chose to grow in jars using organic rye grain. I can get the agar plates covered with mycelium, and after I transfer mycelium from the petri plates to my jars, the mycelium does grow out- pretty quickly at first. But then the growth slows down- way down. At first I was using the instruction from the book by O.T. Oss and O.N. Oeric. Their recommendations for the ratio of water to rye are off, or so I've read, so I've been using 2/3 cup rye to 1 cup of water. Is this still too dry? Could this be responsible for the slow growth? I'm confused because it's not contamination, so far I haven't had any contam problems as I'm very diligent with the sterilization procedures. Any help would be appreciated.

Extras: Filter Print Post Top
Offlinelemon_lw
Stranger

Loc: That Way
Re: Slow colonization--need advice please! [Re: firsttimer101]
    #3668338 - 01/23/05 03:13 PM (19 years, 2 months ago)