Home | Community | Message Board

This site includes paid links. Please support our sponsors.

Welcome to the Shroomery Message Board! You are experiencing a small sample of what the site has to offer. Please login or register to post messages and view our exclusive members-only content. You'll gain access to additional forums, file attachments, board customizations, encrypted private messages, and much more!

Shop: Original Sensible Seeds Bulk Cannabis Seeds   Kraken Kratom Red Vein Kratom   Mushroom-Hut Substrate Mix   MagicBag.co All-In-One Bags That Don't Suck   Left Coast Kratom Buy Kratom Extract   North Spore Bulk Substrate   PhytoExtractum Maeng Da Thai Kratom Leaf Powder

Jump to first unread post Pages: 1 | 2 | Next >  [ show all ]
OfflineoO_wombat_Oo
Stranger
Male User Gallery
Loc: NSW, Australia.
King Oysters ... how does this look? (first time)
    #27064383 - 11/30/20 11:14 AM (3 years, 3 months ago)

I'm a complete newb at this.

The story so far is that I bought some King-Oyster mushrooms at the market in the autumn, made my own potato-dextrose agar and to my complete and utter shock actually managed to clone them and ended up with several jars full of grain spawn. I actually left them a bit too long, they looked like jars full of cotton wool by the time I got around to this step but anyway...

I got a bunch of straw from the horse stable down the road, cut it up with scissors, mixed it with a bunch (I don't know how much I didn't measure it) of old, used coffee-grounds and vermiculite, boiled and pressure-cooked it for an hour (two different batches), let it soak overnight, then this morning I mixed the spawn into it.

The substrate looks pretty damn wet, but I actually squeezed it as I took it out of the cookers until there was no more water dripping out. Still ... too much moisture? I dunno.